DSC00366 DSC00364 DSC00358 DSC00350
Hello everyone!!
I’m sorry that you have to start going back to school. How is it going? Just remember to always look on the bright side and to make friends and do what you love. The MTC is going great! I leave Monday morning at 3:30 A.M!!! I’m just gonna sleep in the airport for a few hours. My flight leaves at 7:30 so I’ll be calling you early in the morning. Sorry mom. I can’t wait to get up to Portland though!
So this week has been kind of crazy. We started teaching our TRC investigators and it has been so spiritual. It’s amazing to see how the Lord can touch the lives of those who need it. Both of our investigators are praying and reading the Book of Mormon. One of them has even committed to be baptized! I know that it’s all acting but it has helped me learn that it’s not me teaching these people. It’s Heavenly Father.
My companion and I are still really getting along. He is from Arizona and he is a lot like me. He has a funny side and a spiritual side. I’m so sad that we aren’t going to the same mission. I’ll miss him a lot. My whole district is amazing. We have been able to lift each other up and help each other through the good times and the bad. Everyone has such a strong testimony and it has really helped me as district leader.On a less spiritual note we had a Nerf war in our apartment the other day. Two of the elders got Nerf guns from home so we did what any guys would do and we ran around shooting each other. It was a blast.
On Sunday we were able to watch a talk that we given here by Elder Bednar. It’s called the Character of Christ. It was the most life changing talk I’ve ever heard. Elder Bednar talked about how the natural man is like the cookie monster in the sense that all we think about is ourselves. “I want cookie now!” “I want more money now!” “I want baptism now!” That’s why he’s an enemy to God. Then he talked about how the character of Christ is always looking outward. In the scriptures you never see the Savior looking inward. He is always looking out for others. If we want to be like him we must look outward too. He told the story of a woman whose daughter was in a car crash with a few other girls. She was talking to Elder Bednar when she found out that the other girls lived and her daughter died. With out a second thought she told Elder Bednar to tell the other mothers that their daughters had lived. That is the character of Christ. I know that if you are always looking out for others you will find true and ever lasting happiness. Tell Noah and Mckenna that I’m proud of them for doing that.
I miss all of you so much and I can’t wait to talk to you again in two years. Thank you all for your prayers and your letters. I love all of you!
Love,
Elder Wilcock
