Keep It Simple

https://i0.wp.com/i.ytimg.com/vi/fCoUMAfTVic/maxresdefault.jpg

Hi everybody! Thank you so much for your prayers and letters! You have
blessed me in more ways then you can imagine.
First of all I hope that each of you where able to see at least some
of General Conference this weekend. If not then you really need to
look it up. The talks where full of spiritual and eternal truths. I
know that my questions where answered and I hope that you have found
the answers to your questions.
The main question I asked was how can I be a better teacher. Many
times when Elder Smith and I are talking to people they want to dive
right into speculative topics. I often struggle to answer these
questions and I don’t feel like I am getting my massage across. The
answer I got to my question is to keep things simple. I just need to
stick to teaching what I know and follow the spirit. I had a chance to
try this out on Sunday afternoon.
It was between the morning and afternoon sessions and we where
checking up on some investigators. It was me, my companion, and a
member named Ryan Robley. (Apparently he and his brother went to PG
High for a while!) We had been to several people’s houses and no one
was answering. We felt a prompting to try to see Manuel.
Elder Smith and I have knocked on his door a ton of times and he has
never answered but because of the prompting we went. A few seconds
after knocking the door swung open and we met Manuel. We were a little
shocked and we were even more so when he started crying and invited us
in.
Manuel told us about a lot of things that he was going through at the
moment. These were things that I have never gone through and I had no
idea how to help. I don’t think any of us did. So we just said a quick
prayer and went with the spirit. We gave him a blessing and taught a
simple lesson on prophets and the atonement. He told us that he could
feel the love of Christ and that we have something that no one else
has. Manuel invited us back in a few days so that we could talk to him
again. I went into that lesson with no idea what to teach, but I
followed the spirit and taught some simple things that I knew and it
blessed this mans life.
Daniel has been reading the Book of Mormon and progressing but we are
letting the YSA elders take over now. That has been hard but I know
that God has a plan for each of us and this is part of the plan for
Daniel.
I went on an exchange with Elder Stovall earlier this week and it was
awesome! We did a lot of tracting and found 3 new investigators! It
was such a blessing!
We had zone conference this weekend and talked a lot about the
atonement of Jesus Christ. I know that He lives and loves each of us.
I know that He suffered and died for us so that we can have the
opportunity to live with our Heavenly Father and families forever. I
know that He knows each of us by name and is helping us everyday. He
is helping the families of those who where killed in the shooting this
week. Keep them in your prayers. I wish that I could help these
families know that they will see their loved ones again. If you get
the chance to bare testimony of that don’t be afraid to do so. People
need to know the message of this gospel.
I love all of you so much and hope you find success in what you are
currently doing.
Love ya!
Love,
Elder Wilcock

