Good Things from a Bad Situation

IMG_0839

Hi everyone! How are you? This week has been crazy!
Elder Maloney and I are getting along great! He is a really hard
worker (probably because he grew up on a farm) and he has a great
sense of humor! I’m really excited for this transfer!
Last week was really great but really hard at the same time. Almost
none of our investigators are progressing at this point. We had to
drop Manuel’s baptismal date because he has slipped back into drinking
and he won’t stop dwelling on his past. We’re still teaching him but
it will be a while before he’s ready to make that commitment.
So because our current teaching pool isn’t progressing we have been
doing a ton of finding! Our days have been filled with tracting,
street contacting and trying to get referrals from anyone we can. It
probably sounds awful but I’m loving my mission! Everyday I feel great
because I’m showing the Lord that I’m willing to work. I’m putting in
the effort to find someone who is ready to be taught and I know that
we will find those who are ready.
So I promised myself that I wasn’t going to fill my emails with
stories of all the crazy people that I meet but this one has a happy
ending so I think I’m okay to tell it.
Elder Maloney and I went on a tracting blitz (I think that comes from
some kind of football term but I’m not sure) with the YSA elders who
live by us. I went with Elder Franklin who, by the way, is one of the
most awesome missionaries I’ve met, to a really sketchy apartment
complex that no one has knocked before. We had knocked a few doors
when we saw a tall, old, black man step out of his apartment to take a
smoke. When we walked up to him we realized it was weed but hey, the
atonement’s real so we start talking to him about our church. I don’t
think I can type the way the he spoke but I will try, he said
something along the lines of,
“HababoblJosephSmithrenablezJesusdjaoendjsksIKnowtheBibleBetterthenyoujdjdosnsndosnMatthewjsnxj?”
As we were trying to peace together what that could possibly mean he
opened the door and let us in.
When we walked in we ran into a cloud of pot and all sorts of other
drugs. Everyone in the apartment, when they saw us, quickly grabbed all
the drugs they could and ran into the back. One of the guys came out
and kicked Elder Franklin, the old man and myself out. He said it was
for our own good and I believe him.
After a long argument ranging from how many times the cock crowed to
whether or not Jesus was black the old man went inside, told us to
never even think about knocking on his door (at least I think that’s
what he said) and slammed the door in our face. As we sat there trying
to control our laughter his next door neighbor came out. He had seen
the whole thing and wanted to know why we do what we do and how we
could be so nice to such a crazy guy. We talked with him for a few
minutes and he said that we could come back and tell him more about
what we believe.
Isn’t it amazing how Heavenly Father can turn such a bad situation
into a great teaching experience? I know that God lives and that he
loves each of us and he will always bless us when we are doing our
best to be like the Savior.
I love you all and I hope to hear from you soon! Love ya!
Love,
Elder Wilcock

