First Week in a New Area

IMG_1027 IMG_1036

Hi everybody! I hope you had a good New Years! Can you believe that it’s 2016?!
I had an awesome week! My new companion is great! His name is Elder
Garfield and he’s from Henderson Nevada. He’s been out six weeks less
then me and he’s a really great missionary!
I’m now in the Oregon City 2nd ward and I love it! The members here
have been really great so far! The bishop and the ward mission leader
are awesome! On New Years Eve we went to the bishops house for dinner and played Sequence for a while. The bishop and his wife said they like me because every time the other team would do something good I would yell “oh my lanta.” They said I’ll fit right in in this ward!
About once a week we go play Yahtzee with a member named Brother
Steve. He’s 5’3, about 350 pounds overweight and he loves missionaries and Yahtzee! He kinda looks like the mom from What’s Eating Gilbert Grape but he’s the nicest guy you’ll ever meet. Except for when you call him out for cheating at Yahtzee… The first thing he does when we come over is he gets us drinks and makes sure that we aren’t
hungry. He lives with his mom who isn’t a member but she loves us. She calls us her little angels. I’m hoping that we can start teaching her
soon!
Another really nice thing about this area is that their are already four baptisms lined up for the next two months! Plus we have a few people who are really close to setting a date! This is so much easier than opening up a new area! One of the people who has a date is Kalya. She’s 11 and will hopefully be baptized by her grandpa this Saturday! We took her to the Visitors Center on Wednesday and it was really great to see her get excited about her baptism! I love being a missionary!
On Sunday we got some snow up here! And by snow I mean a tiny bit of powder and a bunch of ice. There’s an elder and a sister in my district from Samoa so it was their first time seeing snow! It was funny to watch them play in the snow and then realize how cold it is!
Because of all the “snow” on Sunday church got cancelled so we spent all day walking around pushing people’s cars when they couldn’t move. It was a great day! I love serving people and teaching while I serve.
I honestly wish that I could stay a missionary for more then two
years. But, like Alma said, I sin in my wish because I know that God has a huge plan for me and my mission is only part of it. I know that God has a plan for each of his children and if we do what he says  we’ll be blessed more then we can comprehend.
I love you all and I hope to hear from you soon! Love ya!
Love,
Elder Wilcock

