Yellow Canaries with Gray on Their Wings

6a0115702e6249970c0133f1e8e29e970b

Hi everyone! I hope you had an awesome week!

Last week was good but we were setting up a lot of stuff for this week so I don’t have a ton to report on.  We have a new family to teach though! There are five kids in the family and one of them is a member that we see sometimes. We went over on Sunday and the mom had a lot of questions about the Plan of Salvation and the Book of Mormon.  She liked a lot of the things we told her and she said that we can keep coming! We’re pretty excited!
So in my studies this last week I was reading Preach My Gospel and I found a quote that I liked. I was trying to find it when I found a talk by President Monson given in 1973 (back in the Stone Age) called Yellow Canaries with Gray on Their Wings.  I thought the title sounded interesting so I read the talk.  President Monson starts by telling a story from when he was a bishop and a widow in his ward passed away and asked him to take care of her things. When he went to her
apartment he found a note telling him what to do with everything. In the note she told him that she had three canaries. Two were yellow and beautiful and she asked that they go to the neighbors. The third was ruff looking with gray on its wings but she said that it was her
favorite because of the beautiful song that it sung. President Monson went on to talk about how their are many yellow canaries with gray on their wings in the world. They may not be the biggest or the strongest or the best looking but they have great hearts and they always try to
do what’s right. It reminded me of how the Lord has always called the weak and the simple to do His work. He calls 18 and 19 year old kids to do the work of salvation. We may not be the best teachers or know everything about the church but we are striving to serve the Lord and teach his gospel.  I love this gospel and I know that it is the gospel of Jesus Christ. I love you all and I hope you have a great week!
Love,
Elder Wilcock

