If you want to be a master teacher, teach like the Master

IMG_0560

Hi everybody!

I hope that you all had a great week!  My week was pretty awesome!  We were able to find two new investigators this week!  We found both of them while tracting. One of them has a family that might be interested in hearing more about the gospel. We will hopefully be teaching them in the next few weeks. I will keep you posted on how things are going with them.
On Thursday we had a great Zone Conference. In our mission we have a quote from President Ballard that says, “If you want to be a master teacher, teach like the Master.” Kinda cheesy right? In the meeting we talked all about that. We looked in the scriptures and studied what Jesus Christ did to teach His disciples. Some of the big things that we found were He prayed to do the will of His Father, He used the scriptures, He extended bold commitments, and He listened to those He
taught. The thing that I chose to work on most in the next week is using the scriptures while I teach. This is going to involve a lot of studying but I am looking forward to getting more familiar with the scriptures so I can teach like the Master.
Our investigator with a baptismal date is going to be gone helping her brother until September. We will hopefully keep teaching her over Skype. She is still really excited about the gospel and is looking forward to being baptized. We had a lesson with her this week that went really well. The member that we brought with us told her about the temple and now she wants to be baptized for her sister who passed away! We will have to push her baptismal date back to September but
she is still very excited to be baptized.
I know that I have talked about this a lot in past emails but we are truly blessed to be on the earth when there are so many temples available to us. Isn’t it amazing that we can perform sacred
ordinances for those who have passed away and have not had the opportunity to do it themselves? I would encourage each of you reading this to find an opportunity this week to attend a temple near you. Not only does the temple bless those that we are doing the work for but it
blesses us as we strive to draw closer to the Lord in His Holy House.  There’s no better place to feel the Saviors love for you than in the temple or on the temple grounds. Thomas S. Monson once said, “No sacrifice is too great to obtain the blessings available in Holy Temples.” I posted a link to a video recently on Facebook that talks all about this. The video is called Temples are a Beacon. If you cannot find it on Facebook I would encourage you to look it up on your own. It is one of my favorite Mormon Messages.
I know that this gospel is true. I know that the blessings of the temple are here on the earth today and that each of us can enjoy them if we will set aside a little time to go to the House of the Lord.
I love you all and I hope that you have a great week and a greatexperience at the temple near you.
Love,
Elder Wilcock

