A Week of Miracles in Milwaukie

Helaman-52

Hi everybody! I hope that your week was great!  My week was sweet! My new companion is Elder Brown. He’s from South Carolina and he’s really funny!  He is also really musical so I think we will get along great!
So our ward had a baptism last week! His name is Ali. I got to teach him a little and he is awesome! His wife is a member but hasn’t been coming for a while. About a month ago Ali and his wife saw the elders biking around and said hi to them. Ali agreed to take the lessons and his wife agreed to come back to church! Isn’t that awesome? His baptismal service was really great and the spirit was so strong. Unfortunately, he was our only investigator so now we have to do a
bunch of finding. Yay!
I’m really excited because one of the people that I taught in Oregon City is getting baptized in a couple of weeks and I get to go back and see him be baptized! I’ll be sure to send pictures when it happens!
Another cool thing that happened was President Newsom, a member of the mission presidency, came to the Milwaukie ward and talked about member missionary work. He started off by asking how many people were excited that he was there. Elder Brown, the senior couple we share the ward with, and I raised our hands. Then he asked how many people were annoyed because it was gonna be another missionary lesson. Most of the people in the congregation raised their hands. President Newsom decided to show them what a good missionary dinner lesson should look like. He asked if he could get a volunteer from the congregation. A sister volunteered and went up. He then asked Elder Brown and I to go up. He asked us to teach a lesson and get some referrals from the sister. It was pretty nerve racking for all three of us. I was
thinking about what to teach when Helaman 5:12 came to my mind so I went with it. It ended up being a really spiritual experience where everyone was crying by the end. We even got a few referrals out of it! I think that everyone there was hit with the spirit of missionary work.
The last experience happened on Monday. Last transfer I lost my journal. I had been looking for it for a while when I decided to pray about it. After my prayer a thought came to my mind. I thought about how during the transfer before that I hadn’t done a good job of writing in my journal. It made sense to me after that why I wasn’t getting any promptings on where it was. I said another prayer where I apologized for not writing in my journal and I said that if Heavenly
Father would help me find my journal I would write in it every night. The day of transfers I found my journal and have been writing in it every night.
I know that God loves us. I know that He hears and answers our prayers. I have seen that time and time again on my mission. I love you all and I hope your week is awesome!
Love,
Elder Wilcock

