Be Like Nephi

77e8cfee98dbe4392b1071a0bd356bd1

Hi everybody! I hope you had an awesome week! Last week was great! Elder Brown and I were able to find a new investigator! We went on another tracting blitz with the Spanish elders when we found her. She’s very Christian and loves to pray.  We’re excited to teach her this week! She seemed open to the Book of Mormon and a modern day prophet! I’ll let you know how the lesson goes.

Other than that I don’t have a ton to report on for last week. We had a lesson with an investigator that our High Priest Group Leader gave to us that went well! He’s struggling to remember to read the Book of Mormon so we are texting him once a day to remind him. I’m so grateful for the gift of technology! We have so many amazing tools from the Lord! I love being able to use them!

So I’ve been pondering something lately that I wanted to talk about in my email. Over the last year I’ve seen so many people who are complacent in their lives. They strive to do the bare minimum and try to find a way to get out of everything. I don’t have much room to talk because in high school I was pretty content to just do the minimum amount of work in order for me to graduate but I now see that that’s the wrong way to look at life. This isn’t just a problem in the work place and in school but also in our faith. I’ve met many people who are content to attend church when it suits them and only think about God when they need something. It’s also a problem for Latter Day Saints. I’ve seen many members and missionaries unfortunately who strive to do only that which is absolutely necessary for them. Joseph Smith once taught, “A man filled with the love of God is not content with blessing his family alone, but ranges through the whole world, anxious to bless the whole human race.” (Joseph Smith Jr.) So if we feel content in just blessing ourselves and our families then are we really changing? Are we really
trying to become like the Savior? Some people, when asked to bless others, look for anyway to get out of it. They find an excuse not to do what they’ve been asked and when a solution is presented they quickly find another reason why they can’t do the task. This doesn’t show any faith at all. It’s easy to find excuses. It’s hard to find a way to make it happen. Look at the story
from the Book of Mormon when Lehi asks his sons to return to Jerusalem to get the plates. Laman and Lemuel complain the whole time and try to find any way out of it. Nephi chooses to find a way to accomplish the task, even when it didn’t work the first few times. I want to challenge each of you to be like Nephi. When you are asked to fulfill a church responsibility instead of looking for a way out look to the Lord for a way to accomplish his purpose. I can promise you that as you do this you will feel the love of our Heavenly Father more in your life and you and your families will be blessed.

I love each of you and I hope you have a great week!
Love,
Elder Wilcock

