Come to Know Yourself
medium_diverging_paths
Hi everybody! I hope you all had an awesome week!  My week was great! Elder Casey and I had some great lessons. We had a few nights were we had to go on splits because we had multiple lessons!  One thing that we have been struggling with is finding new people to teach. President Ballard told the mission a few weeks ago that we will be doing a No Knock November; meaning that we won’t be tracting at all in the month of November. Elder Casey and I have been trying to cut back on our tracting and using the members to find more so we can be ready for next month. It will be interesting to see how November goes…
So I made an interesting comparison this morning and I figured that I’d tell you about it. For the last seven or eight years I’ve been toying around with the idea of joining the military after my mission to help me pay for college. About nine months ago I started praying about it for the first time in a few years. I got the a feeling that I should focus on my mission right now and worry about that further down the road. I also felt like I should ask other people about it. The responses that I’ve gotten have been very interesting.  Most of the people who have served in the military highly recommend it to help pay for college. They talk about how much it helped them grow and other things it did for them. While most of the people who haven’t served in the military that I’ve asked about it tell me not to go. They say things that they have heard online or things that they assume to be true.
It has made me think about how people do that with the gospel. If you talk to a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints they will tell you how true the gospel is. They’ll tell you how much it blesses them and their family. They’ll talk about a testimony of the Book of Mormon and of living prophets. They’ll talk about how they know that Jesus is the Christ and how He blesses them.  However if you talk to a nonmember they’ll tell you rumors that they have heard or something that they read online.
At the end of the day we have to choose for ourselves if the gospel is true. We have to listen to what the Spirit teaches us, not the opinions of others.  I have discovered for myself that this gospel is the gospel of Jesus Christ. I know that anyone can if they will read the Book of Mormon with an open heart and faith in Christ. Then pray to know if it is true.
I love you all and I hope you have a great week!
Love,
Elder Wilcock
