Gettin’ Dirty 🐷

img_0271

Hi everybody! I hope you had a great week!  Last week was great! Most of our appointments canceled which sucked but we were able to reschedule all of them for this week! Yay! It’s nice to know that they are actually interested and willing to reschedule.
A big event that happened was on Wednesday, the Peden’s, a family in the ward, had their basement flood because of all the rain and melting snow. It was great to see the ward rush to their aid. Even one of her nonmember neighbors came to help!  A few members of the ward decided that the best thing to do to prevent this happening again (because it happened last year as well) was to build a foundation drain. So we dug about four feet down on one side of the house and led the drain to a sump pump. It was rainy and windy the whole time but we all had a blast! Everyone was joking and laughing which made things go much faster! Because of my size or lack of size I was down in the ditch digging for most of the night. It was awesome!! I think that by the end of the night I had about three inches of mud stuck to the bottom of my boots plus all of the mud covering the rest of me. It was nice to get out of church clothes and get dirty of once! I’ll be sure to send some pictures! I was a mess!

service1 service2 service3 img_0267 img_0269 img_0272 img_0284 img_0286 img_0287
On Sunday Sister Peden asked if she could speak for a few minutes to say thank you. It was a great talk. Her and her family have been going through some really intense trials right now and I think that the basement flooding was about to push her over the edge. She spoke about how grateful she was for everyone who has been helping her over the last few weeks. At the end of her talk she asked if we thought these trials had affected her faith. I figured that she would then talk about how her faith had wavered but in the end she was strengthened but her answer surprised me. She said, “Of course not! I still know that Jesus is the Christ. I still know that the church is true.” I hope that I can develop that unshakable faith throughout my life.  I also know that Jesus is the Christ. I know that this is the true church. I know that we can overcome anything if we turn to the Savior for help.
I love you all and hope you have a great week!
Love,
Elder Wilcock

