Be Still, and Know that I am God

be-still-meme

Hi everybody! I hope your week was fabulous!  Last week was great! Elder Rockwood and I were able to set a baptismal date! It was awesome! The Spanish elders sent us a referral so we stopped by. Taylin was raised agnostic but he really wants to know if there is a god. We  promised him that if he read the Book of Mormon and prayed to know if it was true, Heavenly Father would answer his prayer. We asked if he would be willing to act on whatever the answer
was. When he said of course we committed him to be baptized in March. He is really excited and so are we!!
On Wednesday our whole mission got to see the missionary worldwide broadcast! It was awesome! I learned so much about how I can be a better teacher of the gospel! Also, our schedule was changed! I’m still not sure how I feel about it. I haven’t known what to do in the
evenings because we plan in the mornings now. It’s also been difficult to find a good time for companionship study. I do like that things are more flexible now! I’m sure I’ll get used to it in the next few weeks.
So I don’t know all the details but from what I’ve heard things are pretty crazy right now. People are rioting, protesting, and wearing unspeakable things on their heads. When we see all of this going on it can be easy to forget the Lord. It can be easy for us to become fearful and doubt what God has in store for us. When I have had times of doubt on my mission the third verse of How Firm a Foundation always comes to my mind:

Fear not, I am with thee; oh, be not dismayed,
For I am thy God and will still give thee aid.
I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand,
Upheld by my righteous, upheld by my righteous,
Upheld by my righteous, omnipotent hand.

I promise that Heavenly Father has a plan. He knows and loves each of us personally and is looking to help the righteous through these last days. That doesn’t mean we won’t have trials, but it does mean that God will assist us with our trials. If we fill our souls with hope, faith, and charity, we will have no room for things like doubt and fear.
I love you all so much! Have a great week!
Love,
Elder Wilcock

