How Much of a Storm Will it Take to Keep you In?

snow

Hi everybody! I hope you had an awesome week!  Last week was really slow. Elder Rockwood and I got sick on Thursday.  It sucked! I was throwing up all morning. When it first hit me I was
really confused because I remember in the blessing I was given when I was set apart I was told that I wouldn’t get sick on my mission. I started praying about it and as I was praying the spirit told me how many times I would throw up and promised me that I would be completely healed on Friday. Both promises came to pass. I was only sick Thursday morning and when I woke up on Friday I felt totally fine. It was so cool! My poor companion was sick Thursday, Friday, and part of Saturday though. I felt so bad for him! We are both perfectly fine now! The members of the Aloha 1st ward were so nice and came to help us with whatever we needed! A huge thank you to all of them!
The day before we got sick we had Zone Conference and it was really good! I learned more in this zone conference then I have in others in the past. President Newsom in our mission presidency told a story that I loved and would like to share. There were two missionaries teaching an older couple. The wife was interested but the husband wasn’t. He liked the elders though and told them that if they ever needed a place to go they could come and teach him one of their lessons. One day a nasty storm hit so the elders decided to go to the mans’ home and teach him. They taught him the restoration and at the conclusion of the lesson the man asked if they actually understood and believed what they had just told him. Both elders were a little confused and said yes. The mans’ response was, “I don’t think you do understand. If you actually believed that Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ appeared to Joseph Smith and told him that this was the true church you would be out telling people about it right now. This storm wouldn’t be keeping you in.” Then President Newsom asked us, “How much of a storm will it take to keep you in?”
I don’t want to let any storm keep me from fulfilling my calling to teach repentance and baptize converts. It’s so easy to find an excuse when even the smallest of life’s storms hit. When the storms do come, and they will, I know that if we remember the eternal impact of this gospel we won’t let any storm keep us from doing the will of our Father in Heaven.
I love you all! Have a great week!
Love,
Elder Wilcock

